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How do you know true ROAS and LTV for acquired users and players if you’re only tracking in-app purchase revenue? And how do your ad partners know how to optimize user acquisition for you if they’re not getting that data also? Now you can attribute ad monetization revenue for Meta to get a better sense of ROAS and LTV of acquired users.
Plus, you can send optimization signals to Meta to boost performance in your future user acquisition campaigns for your ad monetized apps.
Ad monetization tracking
Singular’s done ad monetization attribution and analytics for years. There’s a version of the product in our free product tier too.
Fundamentally, it’s a simple concept.
Most modern apps are built for hybrid monetization. In-app purchases are wonderful, and so are subscriptions, but the reality is that most of your users and players are not buyers. Adding ad monetization to the mix is how apps realize value from every user.
The historical problem is that ad revenue hasn’t been attributable at a granular level. So, while app publishers have been able to see their revenue from each monetization partner they’re working with — they eventually get some cash from someone, after all — they haven’t been able to connect that with cohorts in their apps, or with their growth campaigns.
Singular’s ad monetization product fixes that, helping you to determine which partners, campaigns, or creative are driving the highest amount of revenue. It also helps you determine true ROAS based on hybrid monetization: both ad revenue and IAP revenue.
Importantly, Singular also manages real-time ad revenue postbacks to your partners so they have the data they need to optimize your campaigns on their platforms for the highest-value users.
Meta and ad monetization optimization
Meta’s obviously one of the most critical growth partners in the mobile ecosystem. While to this point Meta has focused on in-app purchases due to it being the lion’s share of many games and apps’ revenue, Meta is now enabling ad revenue optimization.
Enabling this is simple:
- Integrate Singular’s ad revenue attribution, if you haven’t already
- Pass ad revenue data to Meta by mapping your partner configuration SDK event
- Review Meta’s eligibility requirements
You can find all the details and instructions in Singular’s help center.
The exciting part: this opens up VO (value optimization) campaigns for ad-monetized apps, provided you meet Meta’s eligibility criteria. That’s huge, and it’s going to help you find the right users or players who will spend the most time in your app and watch more ads:
Via Meta’s requirements doc:
“When you optimize the delivery of your ad sets for value, we use machine learning to predict how much return on ad spend (ROAS) a person may generate for either purchase (website and app) or ad impressions (in-app only). We then use this prediction to bid for your highest value customers. By bidding more for people who are likely to spend more or generate more in-app ads revenue, you can help ensure you are maximizing the ROAS for your campaigns.”
Now you’ve got much more accurate ROAS & LTV
Now you’re attributing ad revenue and IAP revenue together, providing much better data for ROAS and LTV calculations for each cohort. And you’re sending optimization signals back to Meta to improve their targeting, which will boost the quality — and profitability — of future cohorts of users.
That also gives you more data to set bids, which opens up yet more opportunity.
For example, if an ad campaign costs $100 but returns $150, you have a ROAS of 1.5. But if that’s based solely on in-app purchases, your true ROAS including ad revenue might actually be 1.7 or 1.9. And that increases your ability to bid more, potentially opening up new sources of profitable users that you could not previously afford to access.
More details? Talk to us
If you need any more information about ad revenue attribution, how it works, and what Meta is now doing, please do not hesitate to contact us or book a demo.
We’d be happy to chat through your options and possibilities.